Writing Tips #7- Twyla Tharp

I believe that every work of art needs a spine- an underlying theme, a motive for coming into existence.  It doesn’t have to apparent to the audience.  But you need it at the start of the creative process to guide you and keep you going.

-Page 144

In the end, whether they see it is not part of the deal I’ve made with the audience.  The spine is my little secret.  It keeps me on message, but is not the message itself.

-Page 146

Another part of the spine would be to figure out how the original has been changed and how it has profited from the journey.  If innocence is still intact, the piece is a comedy.  If its innocence is lost and it hasn’t profited from the experience, the piece is a tragedy.

-Page 151

What gives such impact is that it’s a surprise.  We ask ourselves “Why didn’t I see that?”  We didn’t see it because Keaton didn’t give us time to think about it.  He was getting on with it, not waiting.

-Page 154


Leave a comment